Skip to content

Not as bad as a sabre in the ass…

March 15, 2012

So my friend Olive comes to town from NYC and ends up being my date to tonight’s Sabres v. Avalanche game. We had a raucous good time until Colorado won in the shootout. On the way home, I saw my old favorite NFTA guy at the subway station and got to catch up with dear Bill, then proceeded to take a seat on the joke of a metro here in Buffalo. Olive and I were chatting away, and we began to make friends with a couple guys in the next seats over. I’d like to dedicate this post to them, my newest readers. Hey, guys! Thanks for reading! If you disagree that hockey is the greatest sport on ice, like my card says, check this out instead…

Now, on to the real issue:  will the Sabres make the playoffs? I don’t know, and I don’t really care–they’ve played with my emotions too much this season. Either way, I just hope they don’t embarrass themselves: “Dear Team, Please don’t flame out the last few games of the season, and/or please don’t get swept by those awful NY Rangers if you do make it to the first round, Thanks, Robin”

Will I ever love another Sabre as much as Mike Ramsey? Doubtful. But it's been nice seeing Robyn Regehr settling into the Rammer role finally, eh?!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Richard brox permalink
    March 15, 2012 1:56 pm

    If the Sabres make the playoffs it will be at the time they are finally peaking. If they play the Rangers plus the the Zebras they will win in 6. If it’s Boston plus the Zebras they will lose in 5 due to continued bad calls.

  2. March 15, 2012 3:10 pm

    Oh, right, constantly shorthanded when we count the men in stripes. At one point last night I was yelling at whomever wears #15 since the only call he got right all night was calling that first Sabre goal a good one.

    Shannahan’s really dropped the ball on suspensions for hits, too, having missed seeing Myers on the ice for a boarding penalty that only earned him 2 minutes during Monday’s game; the replay I watched was clearly a penalty, but where’s the call of High Sticking on Campoli for clipping Myers in the face?

  3. March 15, 2012 3:10 pm

  4. H.A.R. permalink
    March 15, 2012 4:32 pm

    While I cannot say that I can do a triple axel, the showmanship and the pageantry of figure skating is bar none, the greatest. The athletes’ sequins and the bedazzled jump suits, draw your eye to their magnificent style and grace. The effortless chassing moves me in ways that only Beethoven or Cher can. If you could bring the fabulous dramaturgy to the ice hockey arena … it was bring tears to my eyes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

